Friends Don’t Let Friends Huff Glue

Let’s kick this off with a music video that has nothing to do with the post. Hell I’m not sure the video has anything to do with the song.

No green pool this year. That’s the goal. Get ready for a summer of bitching about my green pool.

Ken from France came over yesterday with a 6 pack of beer and an 8 pack of hot dogs. If that’s not a recipe for a party then I don’t know what is. 

Since it’s the weekend the weather is rainy and crappy,  and the yard is still mostly under water.

Despite that, we actually accomplished what we set out to do and more! The pool pump is re-plumbed with a chorine feeder and a manifold for sensors (pH, chlorine, temp, maybe something else??). 

 Ken puts on that good good purple juice.
Ken puts on that good good purple juice.
 Manifold is taking shape.
Manifold is taking shape.
 Manifold and chlorinator installed.
Manifold and chlorinator installed.
 Close up of that beautiful work.
Close up of that beautiful work.

We also managed to fix the houses only remaining leaky valve (if you don’t count the laundry sink and anything related to my hydronic heating.. And I don’t). Hose bib is replaced and a valve added for winter time. Apparently siphoning pool water into the house is frowned upon so I also added an anti siphon fitting. I’m hoping the front hose bib doesn’t die on me anytime soon.. that one will require tearing up drywall.

 These are about the easiest damn things to install, 0 leaks with it so far!
These are about the easiest damn things to install, 0 leaks with it so far!
 New valve installed the same as the old one, attached to nothing but the pipe. It'll be fine right?
New valve installed the same as the old one, attached to nothing but the pipe. It’ll be fine right?
 Pebbles popped her head out in the rain to say hi.
Pebbles popped her head out in the rain to say hi.
 In case anybody was wondering where I keep my CJH8 parts.. the answer is 'in the rain'. Who wants to donate a carport?
In case anybody was wondering where I keep my CJH8 parts.. the answer is ‘in the rain’. Who wants to donate a carport?

After Ken left I realized I had a lot of spare PVC parts left. Conveniently it was everything I needed to make unplanned changed! I relocated the waste outlet because the hose I use doesn’t like turning sharp corners. I also swapped out the old deteriorating flex hose for new not square PVC. I had to stop mid way because of the rain, but after it let up I had to go out and finish, in the dark of course. Hoping it all holds up to motor vibrations. If not I’ll put it back to the way it was with a new flexible pipe.

 I'm annoyed that my pipes aren't nice and square to each other, but I'll wait until it catastrophically fails to fix it.
I’m annoyed that my pipes aren’t nice and square to each other, but I’ll wait until it catastrophically fails to fix it.

You may have noticed we were gluing PVC in the house instead of the red shed. If any of my friends thrive on organizing other people’s crap please sign up in the comment sections for ‘clean out jed’s shed day’. 

That’s all folks.

-Jed

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close